Portsmouth Abbey School
285 Cory’s Lane, Portsmouth, RI 02871

1986 Portsmouth Abbey Wrestling Team

Front (L-R) Lopez-Linus, Colbert, Coldersone, Mendoza, Gualtieri, Nadoling
Back (L-R) Sohady, Lehmann, Labossonniere, Arnow, Kim, Riodan, Futado, Coach Stoddart

For the first time in eight years, the Abbey wrestling team has clinched the S.E.N.E. Championship title. It was a successful year for the team just as it was much deserved. With the powerful leadership of Coach Stoddart and the relentless energy of Chris Furtado, the team began its upward climb with the defeats of such established giants as P.C.D. and Moses Brown. Being a relatively young team, Abbey relied on courage and determination. The combination of Furtado’s charisma, the pinning power of Mendoza, Nadolink, Calderone, Sahady, and Lopez Linus, along with the efforts of Gualtieri, Csanadi, Riordan, and Arnow, made for a kind of magic that hoisted the team to victory after victory. The team earned the respect of many and is merely the beginning of a lasting Stoddart dynasty. Although the team is saddened by the loss of a great coach and friend who has raised them for three years to championship caliber, the courage and talent remains ready to take on the contenders in the ’86 season. With much of the team returning, the Abbey is certain to have another upcoming championship tucked under its belt.